The three main sub-regions in Champagne are Vallée de la Marne, Montagne de Reims and Côte des Blancs. The Côte de Sezanne and Cote des Bar is respectively 30km and 100km south of Epernay.


Vallee de la Marne

The Marne Valley is one of five main terroirs that make up the Champagne region. It spreads along both banks of the Marne River, a tributary of the Seine, to the west of Epernay to Saacy-sur-Marne and also on the north side of the valley between Tours-sur-Marne and Epernay. Here, nearly 2000 hectares of vineyards grow, mainly on the south-facing slopes.                                              

Around 61 per cent of vines here are Pinot Meunier, largely because it is a grape that buds late and ripens early, meaning that, unlike other varieties, it is able to withstand frosts. However, across the five main regions of Champagne, it is rare to find a region that does not prioritise one particular grape, while also growing smaller quantities of other varieties. Other than Pinot Meunier, Pinot Noir and Chardonnay are also widespread.

Discover our wine producers in Champagne

Get social with Dynamic Vines

on Instagram